A Writer's Journey

April 29, 2024

Short Stories!

Filed under: journey,writing — mackenziew @ 8:00 pm
Tags:

This a continuation of sorts from my post last week. But before we go there, I do realize why I thought about my old fanfic “The Last Lifetime” while at work. It was because I was listening to Taylor Swift’s new album and in the song “The Alchemy,” she has the lyric “This happens once every few lifetimes.” That made me think of that story.

So mystery solved!

(I’m sure you can all sleep better now).

With that out of the way, onto the actual post under the cut!

So, short stories.

I saw some writing advice recently that said that if you are inspired by just one scene, write that scene. Don’t agonize and worry about writing stuff around the scene. Just write the scene and see what happens.

And it made me think.

How many ideas have I had where it’s really just one big scene? And then I’ve convinced myself I need to fit into something larger? Then when that larger piece fails to really materialize, I’ve let the idea die?

Probably too many to count.

I know I can be my own worst enemy. And I think pushing myself to make a story something it wasn’t definitely falls into that category.

Like how I realized The Last Lifetime wouldn’t work as a full story because it was always meant to just be a short story.

Going forward, I will now ask myself a very important question when trying to figure out it an idea is worth pursuing: Will this work better as a short story or a novel?

Once I answer that, I’ll know how to proceed and can do so accordingly.

And speaking of short stories – Masquerade. I know last week I said I would post a new chapter but I’m afraid that didn’t happen. I’m having some computer problems (which I’ll probably go into next week) but I think I’ve found a work around for now. So I’m going to get the new chapter up this week.

Well, as long as my computer cooperates.

Wish me luck and I hope you have a good week! See you next time!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.