A Writer's Journey

May 6, 2024

Newish Computer, New Troubles

Filed under: off topic — mackenziew @ 12:00 pm
Tags: , ,

Last year, you probably remember me writing about some of my issues with my laptop, Little Blue. It was getting old and I had accidentally spilled some soda on it, which affected the keyboard. So in July, I finally accepted my aunt’s offer of an unused new laptop and switched to my current laptop, Rosie.

And though it hasn’t been a year with Rosie, she’s giving me some problems.

Though I guess it isn’t entirely her fault.

My problem is that I have almost no disk space left. This confused me because almost all my documents and pictures are saved to One Drive. They shouldn’t be taking up space on my hard drive. And when I ran a diagnostic check, it was confirmed that they aren’t.

What is taking up the space is installed apps and the operating system. And nothing I’ve installed is taking up space. It’s things that came pre-installed on my computer. I went through it and tried to uninstall what I didn’t need but it barely made a dent.

It is affecting how my computer is operating. It hasn’t slowed it down but websites will suddenly stop working and I’ll get an error that there’s no memory to run the site. Or OneDrive will stop syncing because it says there’s no memory or disk space to support an upload.

And, yes, my computer will go black or programs will stop responding. It’s frustrating.

I’m first going to see if someone in my company’s IT department will do a personal favor for me. Past IT staff members have done it but none of them are still with us so I’ll have to see. The worst they can tell me is no, right?

Then I can figure out my next steps.

Hopefully it doesn’t get too much worse – like my computer is rendered unusable – and I can figure out a solution soon.

Anyway, I’ll see how it goes.

Until then, I’ll see you next week.

(Hopefully).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.