A Writer's Journey

July 17, 2017

2017 Reading Challenge Update

Filed under: off topic — mackenziew @ 12:00 pm
Tags: , ,

It’s halfway through the year so I thought I would update you on how I’m doing on my goal to read more this year. On Goodreads, I set a goal of 12 books (one book for each month). How am I doing?

I’m actually on target! That’s right, I read six books through June and I just finished my seventh. If I play my cards right, I hope to have the eighth finished by the end of the month.

Maybe even the ninth.

So while I’m target, it is a bit deceptive. Because I haven’t really finished a book a month. I got ahead of myself early in the year and that’s carried me as I slowed down. I’m really behind on my book club selections. My seventh book of the year? Was February’s selection (From Sand and Ash). My eighth will most likely be March’s (Say Goodbye For Now).

I’m just starting the April selection (The Color of Our Sky).

Why the slow down? A few reasons but mostly the book topics, I guess. From Sand and Ash deals with the Holocaust while Say Goodbye For Now deals with racism in 1950s/1960s Texas. Not easy topics to swallow, as you can see. So I was reading at a slower pace, rather than a chapter at a time like I had been.

However, I’ve gone back to that pace and hopefully will catch up to my book club selections by the end of the summer.

I’ll check in then and let you know if I achieve this goal!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

