A Writer's Journey

July 14, 2017

I Dream of Paris…

Filed under: off topic — mackenziew @ 12:00 am
Tags: , , , ,

I knew that when I got to high school, I wanted to study French. And I did, even though Spanish probably would’ve been more useful. I was one of eleven girls in my high school class who learned the language and we all got really close because our class was so small. We also learned about French culture and history, enjoying our lessons. Our one dream was to go to Disneyland Paris as a class.

However, we went to Catholic school so there definitely was no budget to send us to Paris. We had enough to go to Quebec in Canada, which was gorgeous and still gave us a chance to practice our French. And in college, I went abroad to England and don’t regret it.

There was a plan for a family vacation to France when I graduated college. We would visit Paris and my father wanted to go to Normandy, since his father landed at Utah Beach on D-Day. He also spent a month stationed at Marseilles. My grandfather didn’t speak much of his time in the war so I guess my father wanted to feel closer to that part of him. However, I graduated in 2008 just as the recession kicked in, so that trip got scrubbed. We went to Boston instead.

Yet, I still want to go to Paris. I would love to stroll down the streets of the City of Lights, take in the sights, take in the history and just be there. It would be a dream come true.

I’ve wanted to go back to Europe for a while now. Last year, I considered coming to England this year but with my father’s retirement trip to Disney in the works, I figured I wouldn’t be able to swing both. So I put off the trip to England for another year.

Which brings us to this year. There were several cons in Europe that looked interesting and like a lot of fun, including one in Barcelona. I told one of my fandom friends that I wanted to go to one European con next year but I wasn’t sure which one. Then while I was in Disney World, many of my fandom friends were at The Happy End Convention in Paris. And I went—that’s the con I want to go to next year. I can finally see Paris.

(Provided my best friend doesn’t decide to elope with her longtime boyfriend and I suddenly have to jet to England).

(Then again, it’ll still be Europe. I can turn it into a vacation still).

They haven’t yet released any info about next year’s con but it sounds like there is one happening. I’m hoping it’ll be around the same time as it was this year—mid-June. It’ll be a nice time to go, even if there is a heat wave like there was this year.

What do I want to do in Paris? (Besides the convention, that is). Plenty, actually. I would love to see the Louvre and explore the art in there. I would love to go to the Eiffel Tower and maybe fight my fear of heights to go to the top. Maybe. Also, I would love to go the Bastille and maybe Versailles, which would be beautiful to see. Spend some time just wandering the legendary gardens…

I would also love to go to Normandy, like my father wanted to do. To stand on Utah Beach and to see Marseilles. It would be a nice connection to my grandfather.

I’m sure you can figure out why I decided to post this today rather than waiting for my usual Monday posting day. Today is Bastille Day or le 14 julliet. I thought it appropriate.

Here’s to Paris!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

