A Writer's Journey

April 17, 2017

A Reflection on Being 30

Filed under: off topic — mackenziew @ 12:00 am
Tags: ,

My birthday was on April 1st. Yes, I’m an April Fool’s baby. It sometimes sucks (though it’s been years since I’ve gotten a gag gift) but it’s kinda awesome as well. We April Fool babies tend to flock to each other and share some kind of bond when we meet up with each other.

I can’t believe a whole year has gone by already. So, how was thirty?

Not too bad. It probably could’ve been better, but all in all, I liked it.

Let’s get the bad out of the way. Of course, my grandmother died. I still miss her every day but I know she’s in a better place. I also lost my great aunt, Jennie, another strong woman in my life.

My father also had a minor stroke last summer. It shook up our family and we couldn’t do much during the summer because of his recovery.

My ship got blown up when the writers decided to kill Robin Hood. It left a summer of salt and bitterness toward the writers, who doubled down on killing whatever hope we had. It left me absolutely heartbroken.

So that was some of the bad. Let’s look at some of the good.

It started on a relaxing Disney cruise. Three days of sunshine and warm weather, just having fun. It was the best start to a year ever.

Despite losing Robin, our fandom banded together. I made many new friends over it. Especially when they came to my defense when people were upset over the direction I took a story in. They also did the same when people accused me of stealing another person’s story. And when anons grew upset that I wasn’t going to have Regina get pregnant in another story.

(I guess that’s both a pro and a con. My stories got really popular and people care about them. However, that also made people feel they could dictate what I did with my stories. Take out the rape, make it so Regina can have a baby, etc.)

I also got to meet some of my fandom friends. These ladies were lovely, of course, and I hope to meet up with them again. And stay longer then so I can continue to enjoy spending time with them without having to worry about getting home.

I continued to write this year and took on my most challenging scene yet—a rape scene. For the most part, I received praise for how I wrote it. Of course, I got some negative reaction. (See above). But for the most part, people were really supportive. It allowed me to push myself and step out of my comfort zone.

So 30 was pretty good. However, I think 31 might just be even better.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

