A Writer's Journey

May 24, 2016

The Wedding Game

Filed under: journey,The Wedding Game,writing — mackenziew @ 12:00 am
Tags: , ,

Do any of you even remember this? My first completed manuscript that deserves more love than I’ve given it lately? Yeah, I’m going to talk about that again.

Here’s a refresher: “The Wedding Game” is set in the medieval period and tells of Lady Christian, a young noblewoman reeling from the death of her beloved mother. A long-lost uncle returns and insists on taking guardianship of her. He tries to arrange a marriage between her and the duke he is loyal to. But her childhood friend re-enters the picture and Christian finds herself falling in love. Thus starts a fight for her to marry the man she wants and not the man her uncle wants.

Okay, not the greatest summary. Sorry.

Anyway, onto why I’m bringing this up. I’ve decided to give it the love I’ve been neglecting to give it. And I’ll also be revamping it.

What do I mean by that? Well, I think I’m changing the setting. Say bye-bye to medieval England. Someone suggested Victorian times, but I’m now leaning toward colonial America. Because you know I love colonial America. I think it’ll probably be colonial New York, but not Staten Island. Maybe upstate? I do love the Hudson River Valley.

So what else does this mean? Well, Christian’s name will most likely change. While it was a feminine name in the middle ages, I believe it was predominantly male by the 18th century. So, yeah, name change. Maybe to Christina, maybe to something else. I have to see.

There are a few other changes to make as well. I don’t think Gerard’s name will change. Nor will Edmund’s. Fr. Andrew will have to change. No Catholic priests, right? So I’ll have to rework his character. And a whole bunch of other ones. I need to sit down and work it all out.

I’ll keep you updated.

Eventually.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

