A Writer's Journey

October 19, 2015

NaNoWriMo 2015

Filed under: journey,writing — mackenziew @ 1:00 am
Tags: , ,

I can’t believe it. Time certainly does fly, huh? I can’t believe I’m gearing up for NaNoWriMo. I logged back into the website last week to find everything reset for this year. And it was a bit exciting, to get everything ready.

A few weeks ago, I talked about scrapping Savannah’s story for my reincarnated princess series. How she no longer fit with the direction I wanted to take it in. So I was swapping her out with Ellie, a Cinderella story. And I thought that would be my NaNoWriMo project.

Then came the shower and my plans changed. Long time readers of my blog will know that happens quite often.

So what happened?

I was thinking about my Snow White story again. And I was wondering if I should do a twist and write about the villains getting reincarnated so they get a second chance. But I didn’t want to give up Gwen’s story. Melissa’s might change, but not Gwen’s.

So I thought about it some more. I decided to start a new novel. And yes, it’s influenced by Once Upon a Time. Morrigan, my “Evil Queen,” is somewhat influenced by Regina. And there will be an influence from my OUAT OTP, Outlaw Queen. But there will also be some influence from the fairy tale Snow White and Rose Red.

That’s probably confusing, I know. It’s probably because the plot is still jumbled in my head. As I’ve said, I’m a pantser. I generally write as I go. Which makes NaNoWriMo somewhat easier. So I’ll let you know more about it as it starts to solidify for me.

I’ve actually already starting writing it. There’s nothing in the rules that say you have to start at zero on November 1st. You just have to write 50,000 words by November 30th to win. I’ll reset my counter so I can keep better count.

See everyone for NaNoWriMo!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

