A Writer's Journey

July 27, 2015

Fire Escape Courtship

Filed under: journey,writing — mackenziew @ 12:00 am
Tags: , , ,

Good news! I’ve finished “The Best Medicine”!

More good news! I’ve started a new story!

I’m sure you’re rolling your eyes. How many stories have I started? Probably hundreds. How many stories have I finished? Less than that. How many have I workshopped? Even less than that. How many have I shopped around? *Sounds of laughter in the distance*

So, yeah.

But I’m excited. I’ve been focused mostly on my fanfictions as of late. Not that I mind. They have been really rewarding. But I have noticed that if I focus on my fanfictions, my original stories suffer. When I focus on my original stories, my fanfictions suffer. There’s no balance and I would love to find one.

It’s thanks to fanfiction, though, that I got this idea. Kinda. I guess.

Let me explain. I’ve been writing some one-shots based off prompt requests. Most of them end up being alternate universes. And people like them. Which is quite the ego boost, let me tell you. Along with the boost comes requests for continuations. Usually, I’m more than happy to oblige. And as I plotted more stories, I got to thinking: Why shouldn’t I put some of this energy into my original stories?

A lot of the prompts I see floating around don’t have to be used for fanfiction. They can be applied to original writing. But I ended up not needing them for this. I got my own idea. And all I needed for inspiration was New York City.

I love this city.

By now, I’m sure you’re like “Just get to the plot!” Okay, okay. Here’s what I have so far:

Alicia Walsh loves living in New York City. She has a good job, a nice apartment and great friends. All that’s missing is love. Through a series of vignettes, Alicia discovers that love may be right on her fire escape.

Ta da! I think that’s my shortest summary so far!

So I’ll keep you up to date. Promise.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

