A Writer's Journey

April 27, 2015

Training Time

Filed under: journey,writing — mackenziew @ 12:00 pm
Tags: ,

A couple weeks ago, I went to a three day training for my job. It was held at a hotel in White Plains and we were required to stay there due to early mornings and long days. And they were long, filled with a lot of work. But I learned a lot of new things, got some new ideas for work.

I felt quite grown up. Never mind the fact I’m almost thirty. It was just a feeling I had while sitting in the back of the taxi, heading back to the train station to go home.

The only downside? I didn’t get a lot of writing done. I left the notebook I’m writing “The Best Medicine” in at home. But I did bring my laptop. I was able to work on my Once Upon a Time fanfiction, All That Was Me, but not as much as I would’ve because I was so tired. I was also focused on the training, I found.

(I’m still surprised I finished my Once Upon a Time recap on time).

But maybe this was a good thing. I think I needed the break. I think I needed to recharge my brain, to not focus on writing as much as I usually did. So I think it helped my writing and not just my job.

Perhaps writers can take vacations sometimes.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

