A Writer's Journey

January 19, 2015

Thinking Warm Thoughts

Filed under: journey,writing — mackenziew @ 12:00 am
Tags: , ,

It’s not as cold as it got last year but damn did it get close. I’ve been layering up whenever I leave the house. A vest, a fleece-lined jacket, scarf, headband, and gloves have been keeping me warm. We havent’ seen the same snow fall we saw last year but we’ve always gotten a bit more than the dusting the weathermen say we’ll get.

Here’s the thing: I love the cold. I flourish in it rather than the heat. But it’s once again too cold for me. I do better above the freezing mark. Like, low 40s, high 30s. Cold, but not too cold. I guess the word I would use is brisk. I like brisk weather.

But I’ve been taking a cue from some Muppet rats:

Yes, I’ve been thinking warm thoughts. It’s a trick I learned back when I started commuting to high school. As we stood on the street corner, waiting for the bus, we’d think of warm things. Hot chocolate. Our beds. Tropical beaches.

Ahh, tropical beaches. Which of course makes one think of getaways. You know, vacations. Days where all you have to do is lie in the warm sun with a frozen drink in one hand and something tasty in the other. Or relax in warm, shallow pool waters with that frozen drink and tasty something.

We all need breaks. I know I do. Don’t get me wrong—I love my job. And my coworkers. But I’d like to just lay about for a few days. Maybe with a good book. Or a cute guy. Maybe a cute guy with a good book.

Sorry, sorry. Where was I?

Right. Vacations.

Unfortunately, I’m not planning a vacation any time soon. So that means I have to do the next best thing! Marathon the Travel Channel and write about vacations. Part of that was inspired by a writing class I took online through RWA University. (If you’re a RWA member, I highly suggest them). The instructor spoke of a vacation as a good plot for a romance. Which got me thinking. So now I’m writing a short story.

Yes, on top of everything else.

I may be slightly insane.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

