A Writer's Journey

September 15, 2014

Love Interests

If you’ve read my book analyses, you know I love Sara Donati’s “Into the Wilderness” series. But you also know that I came to a realization in the last book I read, “Queen of Swords.” That Donati’s romances were generally all the same: strong, independent and outspoken woman falls for silent, strong and passionate man. Something blocks their relationship, they fight to be together, have lots of sex, lather, rinse, repeat. While I still enjoy the books, it did get a little boring.

This made me think about my own love interests. So far, between Brandon (“Fairest of Them All”) and Phillip (“Dreams of the Rose”), I feel I have created two different love interests with two different personalities.

Brandon is the cute, nice, rich guy archetype. And he’s attracted to Gwen immediately, feeling a pull toward her. He tries to spend time with her without giving the appearance of favoritism as she’s up for a promotion. When they do, they have nice and easy conversation and enjoy their time together.

Phillip is the best friend triumphant.  He’s been friends with Rosalie since childhood. They know everything about each other. They are there for each other—always. And I do believe they may have been influenced by Emma Approved, which I was watching at the time. That too included a case of “Best Friend Triumphant,” though my best friends triumphed before episode 70 of Emma Approved aired.

I already have an idea which archetype I’ll explore for Isaac, my main male character in “The Best Medicine.” He’ll be the man the main female character finds annoying until she gets to know him better. And in the process, he helps her as well.

I can’t wait to start writing! Though I can wait for November. Seriously, is there a pause button for this year?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

