A Writer's Journey

September 1, 2014

Outlander Mania!

Filed under: journey,writing — mackenziew @ 12:00 am
Tags: , , ,

For most of August, my most viewed post has been my book analysis of Outlander. And I know why.

The long awaited miniseries debuted on Starz on the 9th but the premiere had been up for a week prior online. From what I understand, it got a lot of hits online. And it got solid ratings when it debuted on TV. Before the second episode aired, Starz announced a second season.

I am watching the show. While I had my criticisms of “Outlander” the novel, I did like it. And I looked forward to this adaptation. So far, it’s pretty good. And well casted. Especially when it came to Frank and Black Jack. I hadn’t seen Tobias Menzies before but he was great in the first episode. Of course, I also believe the TV show did a better job with Frank and Claire’s relationship than the book. I felt they were in love, unlike in the book where if I didn’t know better, I would’ve thought they were siblings.

Catriona Balfe is also very good as Claire. Who ever played Claire had to carry the series and she does. She’s a strong heroine who captivates the audience and holds our attention. And she has chemistry with both Menzies and Sam Heughan, who plays Jamie Fraser.

I had seen Heughan before in a Hallmark Christmas movie called “A Princess for Christmas.” He plays Roger Moore’s son, who is a prince of some sort. Moore has brought his estranged grandchildren to his castle for the holidays, along with their aunt—who has custody following their parents’ death. I’m sure you can figure out the rest. I liked him in that movie. And I might’ve drooled a little.

Now I’m drooling over him a lot more as Jamie. He’s as strong a presence as Claire, which is also important in this adaptation. I can’t wait to see how he plays some of Jamie’s meatier parts. And no, that wasn’t innuendo. Jamie undergoes a lot in just the first book alone.

So for those of you finding me due to my Outlander post, welcome! I am recapping the series…on another blog. You can read the first recap here, the second here, and the third here. (Shameless plug?) If you do, please leave comments! I’d love to talk with fellow fans!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

