A Writer's Journey

June 30, 2014

Liebster Award

Filed under: journey,writing — mackenziew @ 12:00 am
Tags: ,

I’d like to thank Shannon from Beauty and the Mess for nominating me for a Liebalist Award. I’m quite honored to be chosen and to be asked to participate in this. I suggest you all check out her blog.

liebster award

So what is the Liebster Award? Well, it comes from a German word that means many different things, including: “dearest,” “sweetest,” “kindest,” “nicest,” “beloved,” “lovely,” “kind,” “pleasant,” and “valued.” Some may view it as the blog equivalent of a chain letter, but I don’t.

Here are the rules:

1. Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog.

2. Display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”. (Note that the best way to do this is to save the image to your own computer and then upload it to your blog post.)

3. Answer 11 questions about yourself, which will be provided to you by the person who nominated you.

4. Provide 11 random facts about yourself.

5. Nominate 5 – 11 blogs that you feel deserve the award, who have a less than 1000 followers. (Note that you can always ask the blog owner this since not all blogs display a widget that lets the readers know this information!)

6. Create a new list of questions for the blogger to answer.

7. List these rules in your post (You can copy and paste from here.) Once you have written and published it, you then have to:

8. Inform the people/blogs that you nominated that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it (they might not have ever heard of it!)

So here are the questions Shannon gave me to answer:

1. What’s your favorite animal?

Cat. They are so cute, majestic and can be quite affectionate when they want to be.

2. What’s something on your bucket list?

Catch the bouquet at a wedding. I’ve been to a few, but I’ve never done this. Mostly because I got embarrassed. Or rather, my shyness took over. You never know who they will make you dance with and I didn’t want to do that. But now, I want to catch the bouquet before I meet Mr. Right and get to toss my own.

3. Read any good books this past year?

Ooh, yes. There was “The Heiresses” by Allison Rushby. And “Seraphina” by Rachel Hartman. Then there’s “The Dreamer” by Lora Innes. (The last one is a series of graphic novels). PS: Links go to my other blog, Reading by the Moonlight.

4. If you had a million dollars, what are a few things you would do with it?

Well, pay off my loans from college! Put some in savings. As for the rest? Well, Europe would be calling my name for a vacation!

5. What’s your favorite T.V. show?

“Once Upon a Time.” I love the characters and how they wind the different fairy tales together. I’m also a big fan of Doctor Who and can’t wait for Season 9!

6. What’s something you’re afraid of?

Bugs. I am absolutely terrified of them. To the point I freak out over pieces of dust if I only glimpse them. When I was still in school, I couldn’t even look at pictures of bugs in my textbooks.

7. If you could see anyone in concert, who would it be?

Anyone? Well, I’d go back in time and see Judy Garland perform! Her voice was so amazing and I hear she was quite funny in person.

8. What’s your favorite book?

“Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austen. I just love it. And I love Elizabeth Bennett.

9. If you could go bowling with any fictional character, who would it be?

Hmm…I think I would like to go bowling with the Doctor. How fun would that be?

10. Why did you start a blog?

For a couple reasons. One, because I was getting really serious about being a published writer. I thought it would be good to write about the process and other things pertaining to my writing. I thought it would be good to have. Two, I was unemployed and had time on my hand. It kept me busy.

11. What’s your favorite season?

It’s a toss up between spring and autumn, because I like seasons where there’s a visible change. There’s just something in the air. But I’m going to have to give it to spring, since my birthday is in April.

So, 11 facts about me. Hmm…

1. I love Law and Order. If there’s a marathon, I’m usually watching it.

2. My guilty pleasure? Grease 2.

3. I love going to see musicals.

4. I can name all 4 presidents who have been assassinated as well as their assassins.

5. My lucky number is 12.

6. I love cats but dogs love me.

7. I am also afraid of heights.

8. I am a tumblr addict.

9. I go on nostalgia binges, where I just marathon old shows I used to watch.

10. I love dressing up to go to conventions.

11. I am a news junkie.

My nominated bloggers:

Reading Maria

Thoughts of the Future Go ‘Round in My Head

One Writer’s Way

Disney Nouns

The Dragon and the Phoenix

So here are the questions for my nominated bloggers:

1. If you were given an all-expenses paid trip anywhere, where would you go?
2. Which time period do you think you should’ve been born in?
3. What’s your favorite movie?
4. You can star in one TV show. Which one? As who?
5. What’s your guilty pleasure?
6. What’s the one book you’ve been dying to read but haven’t found the time to yet?
7. Coke or Pepsi?
8. What’s your favorite month?
9. What was your high school mascot?
10. What was your favorite subject in school?
11. Which cancelled TV show would you bring back if you could?

I hope my nominated bloggers keep this going. Pass it forward!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

