A Writer's Journey

June 16, 2014

Vacation Shmacation

Filed under: journey,writing — mackenziew @ 12:00 am
Tags: , ,

Who has two thumbs and just got back from vacation? This blogger!

My family and I went to Walt Disney World for eight days. And we had a lot of fun, even if it was hot and crowded at times. I was even there for the Magic Kingdom’s 24 hour event. Not all 24 hours, but I was there until 5:15 in the morning. And it was fun! Nothing like seeing the limits to how chipper cast members can stay. (It was 3:30 AM though some of them tried). After those eight days, we then went on a four-night Disney Cruise, making stops in Nassau and Castaway Cay. I enjoyed the sunshine and the relaxation.

I also thought it would be a vacation from writing. The day before we flew down to Florida, I had finished my NaNoWriMo 2013 project, Dreams of a Rose. And I was quite proud of myself. Proud enough to give myself a break.

How foolish I was! You’d think by now I’d learn I can’t schedule breaks from writing. When inspiration hits, it hits.

And in this case, it hit in the Space Mountain queue. The ride was experiencing problems and so we were stuck waiting. And I was just thinking. Perhaps it was all the princesses, being in Disney, but I thought of my ongoing fascination with using the Cinderella tale for a novel. I had thought about turning it into a historical fiction novel. But then it hit me: Make it a pure fantasy! Create my own world! And I got more. Just one sentence: Cinderella is her own fairy godmother. I even got a title! Ella, Witch of the Cinders.

Catchy, huh?

So now I’m working everything out. Characters, plot, world, etc. I’ve started my first draft. In fact, I bought a notebook and pen in Disney to do so because I was having computer problems. I resolved the computer problems toward the end of the week, when I finally had time to sit down. So I started to write but the parks called to me. I couldn’t ignore the places that gave me inspiration, right?

I did do a little writing in the book I bought, mostly on the cruise. It was quite nice to write on my verandah with the sea breeze blowing around me. It was also my first attempt to not write linearly, like a usually do. Not sure what the outcome will be, but it’s always good for a writer to break out of his/her comfort zone—right?

Here’s hoping all my vacations are this productive!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

