A Writer's Journey

February 10, 2014

Cinderella, Cinderella…

Filed under: journey,writing — mackenziew @ 12:00 am
Tags: , ,

A few weeks ago, I saw “Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Cinderella” on Broadway. My review of it can be found here.

I was sitting in the Broadway Theater, watching a good show and inspiration hit. It was a what if scenario: What if Cinderella didn’t want to go to the ball? What if she hoped one of her stepsisters married the prince? Because all she wants is her father’s house back?

To be honest, it wasn’t the first time I thought about that scenario. No, the first time was a few years ago when Disney released “Cinderella III: A Twist in Time.” I understood why they made the decision for Lady Tremaine to return to the shoe fitting and change it from there. But I wondered about them going back to prevent Cinderella from ever attending the ball. How would she and the prince get together then? Would she be happy to have the house to herself?

But this time, I wanted to do something with my questions. The question was what. I’ve been avoiding using Cinderella in my reincarnated princesses series. It seems a bit…cliché. And too easy. There are many modern Cinderella stories. I wanted to focus on a few fairy tales which normally don’t get such treatment. (I’m not completely ruling out using Cinderella in the future, though).

So what did I decide to do? Write a short story. For now. If it goes well, I may expand it.

We’ll see.

(Note: I just added the review of “Cinderella.” I had forgotten when I decided to post the review on Valentine’s Day that I had written about in this post. I’m sorry).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

