A Writer's Journey

January 14, 2014

Surviving the Polar Vortex

Filed under: off topic,writing — mackenziew @ 2:02 am
Tags: ,

It got cold last week. Really cold across most of the continental United States. It was so cold, Alaska was warmer than most of the US. And for some spots, Mars was warmer than they were!

What caused the polar vortex? It had something to do with the jet stream and the arctic stream. It traveled further south, freezing the US. I know I was cold. The polar vortex descended upon us with strong winds. It almost sounded like a hurricane. I was surprised I didn’t wake up to a few downed trees.

When I awoke, I slipped on my nice pants for work and then put on a button down shirt. Over that, I put on a nice sweater. Then I put on a fleece. By the time I put on my coat, my mobility was limited. I sat in my car, waiting for it to warm up as I watched my breath. My dad had advised me to bring a blanket in case I had to wrap myself in it while waiting for the car to warm up. Thankfully, I didn’t.

It was a “stay in the office and don’t leave” type of day. I felt bad when we ordered out because someone had to deliver our lunch. The poor person looked so cold. And after 5PM, I had to bundle myself up and go back out there. Sit in the car to wait for it to warm up. Even then, when I went to get gas, I couldn’t roll down my window. I had to open my door to hand the attendant my credit card. It was so cold, I couldn’t wait to close it again!

And it took it awhile to warm up again. So I bundled up most of the week. I think I lived in my blue fleece all last week. And I was too busy trying to keep warm, I didn’t get a lot of writing done. Of course, I fell asleep early on Tuesday when I wrapped myself up in my blanket to warm up. But yeah, polar vortex=not a lot of writing.

How about you? How did you survive the polar vortex?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

