A Writer's Journey

December 3, 2012

Christmas Songs!

Filed under: journey,writing — mackenziew @ 12:00 am
Tags: , , ,

Many writers write to music. I’m usually writing to TV or internet videos. But it’s December. Which means it’s time for Christmas music! (Okay, I’ll admit I started adding Christmas songs to my iPod on November 1st). So, which are my favorites? Well, let’s have my first Top 10 List! (For this blog, at least).

10. O Come All Ye Faithful. It’s traditional and it’s joyful. I don’t care who sings it, as long as they don’t do any vocal acrobatics. The song is beautiful enough on its own.

9. All I Want For Christmas is You. Yes, it’s overplayed before the season begins. And it’s been covered by everybody. To the point I was upset they gave it to Keith on Celtic Thunder’s Christmas album. But by golly, I still love it and make sure it’s one of the first songs added to my iPod come Christmas time. (Rest assured, it’s also on of the first to come off in January).

8. Going Home for Christmas. Only Celtic Thunder fans will know this song. But it’s a great one! Sung by George Donaldson, it’s about how excited the singer is to go home. Upbeat and a feeling we all can associate with.

7. Do They Know It’s Christmas? It predates “We Are the World” and probably gets more airtime than it too. Yes it’s upbeat tone hides a rather depressing message but it’s one not to forget: There are people suffering out there. We should remember them. This has been covered several times as well (including Glee for a rather ill-conceived scene).

6. The Christmas Song. Chestnuts roasting on an open fire, Jack Frost nipping at your nose, and this Yuletide carol being sung by everyone. It is aptly titled. The song embodies the feeling of Christmas.

5. Christmas/Sarajevo 12/24. I’m not usually one for pure instrumentals. But I love this one by the Trans-Siberian Orchestra.  How it starts soft and then just rocks out. It’s great.

4. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing. Another traditional song that has been done constantly. But I love it. One of my favorite versions is off the 2007 Carols for a Cure CD (released by the Broadway community to help raise money for Equity Cares/Broadway Fights AIDS). A group of male Broadway singers give a very good and joyful rendition of the song.

3. Merry Xmas, Everybody! This is probably more well-known in the UK than in the US. But I heard it on an album and loved it. Upbeat (sensing a pattern to my tastes yet?) and capturing the things we really only do once a year, it’s a great song.

2. A New York Christmas. Written by Rob Thomas in the days following September 11th, it’s a poignant song. And one I feel captures the feeling of New York at Christmas, even after tragedy. I think it may make a comeback this year following the destruction of Hurricane Sandy.

1. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas. This song was originally sung by Judy Garland in “Meet Me in St. Louis” and was supposed to be really depressing. Thankfully, Garland refused to sing it until the lyric was changed. And now we have this beautiful little Christmas song wishing us well.

So there are my top ten Christmas carols. If you want to hear some good Christmas music, I recommend the Celtic Thunder Christmas album. A mixture of standards and new songs, it’s a great listen. I had to restrain myself from putting nearly every song from it on this list.

What do you like to listen to come Christmas?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

