A Writer's Journey

November 12, 2012

NaNoWriMo

Filed under: journey,writing — mackenziew @ 3:30 am
Tags: , ,

For those who don’t know, November is National Novel Writing Month or NaNoWriMo! Participants pledge to write an entire 50K word novel throughout the entire month. It’s worldwide, actually, and everyone supports each other.

I’d heard of it and contemplated joining last year. But I decided against it for some reason. I can’t remember right now. And then I initially decided against it this year. You all know I’m busy editing “The Wedding Game.” So I didn’t want to do NaNoWriMo.

But then, I got an idea. And it wouldn’t let me go. So I started writing it in my notebook. Then a little voice told me I should do NaNoWriMo. I looked up the website, wondering if I had missed the deadline. You see, I decided to do NaNoWriMo on November 8th. But I was able to register and am now woefully behind. Or at least it feels like it.

So what am I writing about? Well, it’s about a young woman named Gwen who starts to believe she is the reincarnation of Snow White. As she comes to this realization, her life starts to mimic the fairy tale.

It’s going to be the first in a series. Gwen’s not the only one who may be a reincarnated fairy tale princess. And I’m looking forward to writing their stories as well!

I just have to survive November.

You doing NaNoWriMo? If so, leave your handle in the comments. I’ll be sure to add you as a writing buddy!

1 Comment »

  1. […] Last year was my first go at NaNoWriMo. I didn’t “win,” instead finishing with only 13k written by December. Of course, I decided to do NaNo a week in and then was sidelined the last week due to oral surgery (I had my wisdom teeth removed). So I ended up finishing last year’s project, “Fairest of Them All,” in May. I still have to type it up and hopefully have it posted to either Book Country or Scribophile by the end of the year. […]

    Pingback by NaNoWriMo 2013 | A Writer's Journey — November 3, 2013 @ 11:06 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

