A Writer's Journey

October 1, 2012

Autumn Musings

Filed under: journey,off topic,writing — mackenziew @ 12:00 am
Tags: , , ,

It’s October 1st! And in information you probably didn’t want to know about your blogger, it’s my half birthday. (Quick! Count and discover my birthday). It’s also autumn.

I’m not sure about where you live, but it’s clearly autumn in New York City. The days have gotten cooler. During my last days of work, it was quite chilly when I left my house. I had thoughts of hot chocolate but by the time I got into Manhattan, it was warming up. (I did get my hot chocolate on my second-to-last day). But I finally had to do a load of jeans because I can no longer wear shorts or capris. Soon I’ll have to exchange my t-shirts for my long sleeved shirts.

Ooh, autumn wardrobe shopping. And I’m not even a mall rat! But I do like the warmer clothing. I just need to find some good warm dresses to wear.

But this isn’t about my fashion sense. It’s about the season! There’s a moment where the morning air is crisp and I am always transported back to my high school days. I ran track year round and fall is cross-country season. So when I feel the first cool morning, I can see myself standing in a park waiting to run.

I love autumn. Some see it as a time of death, I see it as a time of new beginnings. Perhaps it’s because I feel like a perpetual student. So I see September as a start. Start of something new. (Ohh, I cringed at my own High School Musical reference). But there’s so much potential in this season.

And I feel it’s more romantic than the other seasons. I’m not sure why. Perhaps it’s the chill in the air, forcing people closer for warmth? Or maybe it’s just me?

What about you? Do you like autumn? Or does another season have your loyalty?

1 Comment »

  1. I like autumn the best too. The weather suits me the best. Sadly, it’s not cool enough yet here – yesterday it was as hot as if it was still early September.

    Comment by helenthehermit — October 1, 2012 @ 6:18 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

