A Writer's Journey

July 30, 2012

Contemporary Romances

Filed under: journey,writing — mackenziew @ 12:00 am
Tags: , , ,

I have a confession. I like to watch Lifetime movies. Not the ones usually parodied where poor Meredith Baxter ends up raped. I like the lighthearted romances the channel also airs. Every so often, I go on Lifetime marathons (usually around Christmas though). I went on one about a month ago.

The first movie I watched was “Scents and Sensibility.” It was an updated version of “Sense and Sensibility.” The second was “Sundays at Tiffany’s,” the story of a woman visited by her imaginary friend who is now all grown-up and real.

So why do I talk about these movies? Because they are examples of contemporary romances. I’m sure Lifetime makes movies from most contemporary romance novels, like “The Cinderella Pact.” And it makes me think about my own romance career.

Image from Shutterstock.

I do like writing historical romances. They are fun and educational. But does it mean I don’t want to write contemporary romances? Of course not! I’d love to write them. They seem fun as well. In fact, I’m writing one right now.

Now, now, I know what you are thinking. Blogger, you’re working on a novel. Shouldn’t you finish it first before moving on to another? Don’t worry, I’m still working on it. Most likely in the editing stages as we speak. Which means a lot of rewriting, but that’s for another post.

I’ll let you in on a little secret: Writers often work on many projects at the same time. Most of them die eventually. I’m sure I’m not the only one with notebooks or file folders filed with unfinished stories. I wonder if, once I’m a big famous writer (*crosses fingers*), I can put them into an anthology. Like how Jason Robert Brown took songs from his unfinished musicals and put them into a revue (“Songs for a New World.” Look it up. It has some great songs).

But I digress. Back to my contemporary romance. It’s partially based on Anne Hathaway’s story. For those unfamiliar, she had been engaged to a prominent financial figure. She seemed to be living a Disney fairy tale, like the ones that got her fame in the first place. Then her fiancé was arrested for financial crimes, including bilking the Roman Catholic Church. She broke off the engagement, he pled guilty and went to prison. He was recently released and said he still loves Hathaway. (She has moved on).

And I got to thinking. What if a groom was arrested at the altar for financial crimes? Leaving his bride penniless and shunned? Now, she has to rebuild her life. And just as she has moved on and has the possibility of love again, he is released. He also wants her back. But the question is, does she want to go back? Or is she too different a person?

Reader, wish me luck!

2 Comments »

  1. I read SUNDAYS AT TIFFANY’S last year and remember thinking it would make a good Lifetime movie (or maybe it already was?). The weird thing is that it’s written by James Patterson! I bet he was probably working on that story while working on one of his several mysteries.

    Also, I heard once that the Coen brothers wrote BURN AFTER NOTICE while they were writing NO COUNTRY FOR OLD MEN. Sometimes, you just have to go back and forth between tones, keep the mind fresh.

    Comment by Susan Elizabeth — July 30, 2012 @ 10:04 am | Reply

    • Well, I suggest watching the movie. I enjoyed it. James Patterson, huh? Must’ve missed that credit.

      Sometimes, you just have to go back and forth between tones, keep the mind fresh.

      Yes, indeed. I’ve noticed that as well.

      Comment by mackenziew — July 30, 2012 @ 9:04 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

