A Writer's Journey

April 2, 2012

When Inspiration Hits…

Filed under: journey,writing — mackenziew @ 12:00 am
Tags: , , , ,

…It can hurt.

Trust me. It happened to me recently. I’ve probably mentioned before that I find it funny that I’m a lover of American history and my historical romance is set in 12th century England. But I knew I would eventually write American history fiction. I also knew I wanted books set in my hometown.

And then I was in the shower. It’s amazing how many writers admit to getting inspiration there. I guess it has something to do with the warm water. It tends to lull you into a sleeplike state. So I guess it’s like how I get my inspiration in that moment between waking and sleeping. This time, I got an idea of how to proceed with the book.

I’m doing it as a novella. (I’ll explain the difference in next week’s post.) And I’m aiming it toward a young adult audience. I want this to be read in schools.

So now I’m writing three books. Let’s see which one gets finished first, shall we?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

