A Writer's Journey

February 27, 2012

Calling for Fantasy!

Filed under: journey,Through the Mists,writing — mackenziew @ 12:00 am
Tags: , ,

So, as you all know, I recently came to the realization that my story “Through the Mists” is really high fantasy, not alternate history like I thought. With it came another realization:

I haven’t read a lot of fantasy.

I’ve read Harry Potter. I’ve read “The Hobbit” and “Lord of the Rings.” I also read series called “Daughters of the Moon.” If you haven’t read the latter series, I advise it. I’ll address it more in another post, but look it up.

But I still want to read some more fantasy. So now I’m asking you, the readers of my blog. What fantasy books should I read? Sound off below!

3 Comments »

  1. Not sure if Harry Potter counts as high fantasy.
    I mentioned “Dragonlance” original trilogy in “Have you read” thread on Refia – see for further details. David Eddings’ “Belgariad” is decent. You might want to borrow a few volumes of Wheel of Time – it doesn’t start off too bad, for all that Jules and I rant and rave about it. Robert E. Howard is mentioned next to Tolkien, but he leans more toward “Sword and Sorcery”, and from I saw of your novel, it doesn’t seem to be what you are going for. Same with Fritz Leiber and Michael Moorcock.
    George R.R. Martin’s “A Song of Ice and Fire” has its problems – but like WoT, the start is decent and though it is very dark, it has elaborate politics rather than usual “hero saves the world” thing.
    Even more high fantasy…there are Roger Zelazny’s “Chronicles of Amber”, though they cross over slightly into SF, and Ursula LeGuin’s “Earthsea” series. I’ve also read Salvatore’s “The DemonWars Saga” and Terry Brooks’ “Shannara” series…but neither were very gripping. If you are looking for ideas about setting, though, you might want to check them out.
    Then there are books like McCaffrey’s “Dragonriders of Pern” and relatively new Naomi Novik’s “Temeraire” series…but they focus on dragons mostly. (Despite its name, “Dragonlance” doesn’t.)
    That’s it…for now. You might want to ask Jules as well.

    Comment by Amarth — March 6, 2012 @ 6:15 am | Reply

    • Thanks for the suggestion! A friend also suggested Martin’s books as well.

      And I may ask Jules as well. Thanks!

      Comment by mackenziew — March 6, 2012 @ 6:29 pm | Reply

      • Got another one – I just finished it today. “Thomas the Rhymer” by Ellen Kushner.
        It’s based on an old ballad about harpist taken away by Elven Queen for seven years. I bought it a while ago, and forgot about it until I found it again cleaning up some things recently.
        I made a mistake of looking for reviews then. A lot of people complained about how plot is bad, and main character is unsympathetic. Frankly, I never got that feeling. It’s not your usual plot, nor your usual hero, granted, but that’s what makes it interesting. The author, rather than making one story, made four – not unlike how genuine oral tradition works: legends about particular events, having the main protagonist in common. And so there are four stories by four people, each offering unique insight. Protagonist is not a nice guy, but he felt more human to me for that.
        Either way, a worthwhile read, for rich imagery and the way author weaves elements of other old ballads and fairytales. She has a way of making poetic expressions, straight from a fairytale, without going into “purple” teritory. It’s not long – I finished it in a couple of hours.
        A curious detail: her Elves call out land “Middle Earth”. But then again, Tolkien did say it was based on Scandinavian Midgard – translation? Must look further into it…

        Comment by Amarth — March 7, 2012 @ 11:48 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

