A Writer's Journey

November 3, 2011

Umm…Hi?

Filed under: journey,writing — mackenziew @ 1:00 am
Tags: , , ,

So, I like to read Cleolinda Jones’ blog. I first discovered her Movies in 15 Minutes, then her Secret Life of Dolls and finally her blog proper. I enjoy her sense of humor and writing style.

Anyway, I visited her blog recently and she apologized for not updating in a long time. And I was like, “Oh, it has been a while…” Then I realized that my last post here was the same day as her last post. And I figured I should put something up!

So…

I’m employed again, which is always a good thing, right? It’s a temporary position, though I have been given no end date as of this writing. I’m working in the HR department of a marketing firm in NYC. The commute is long. In the morning, I take a train to the ferry and then transfer to the 1 train. I get off at 14 Street and walk up a couple blocks to my building. At night, I walk back to the 14 Street station and catch either the 1, 2 or 3 trains uptown to 42nd Street. I then take an express bus home. So it’s a long commute.

And I thought it took away writing time at first. In the morning, I’m usually sleeping or reading the newspapers on my Kindle. And then I can’t write on the bus due to motion sickness.

But I realized it didn’t have to. After all, I get an hour for lunch. Of course, there is the time spent walking to wherever I am eating and then back, but that still gives me a good twenty to forty minutes of writing. And I use it. I mean, there are times I wish I was in front of my laptop for some quick research, but I just jot down notes in the margins for when I go home.

Which means that “The Wedding Game” is progressing nicely. I’m writing chapter seven and I feel the story is progressing nicely. I’m almost done with this notebook, but fortunately I found a few other old notebooks from school. But I still put notebooks on my Christmas list.

I’m sure most of you know that the East Coast got slammed by a snowstorm this past weekend. Trust me when I say the amount we got was a surprise to even us who are accustomed to snowstorms. We usually don’t get them before Halloween. So I was inside all day Saturday and I continued to write. But, as I tweeted, the snow made me want to write of winter. My novel though is set primarily in the summer. Yeah…Oh well.

So, that’s what’s happening.

Anyway, to the person who responded for my call for ghost stories: Thank you! I didn’t post it though because I don’t think it’s a ghost story or unexplainable. I do believe “sleepwalking” is the answer to the mystery as a former sufferer.

1 Comment »

  1. Superb post. I was checking constantly this weblog and Im impressed! Really beneficial details specially the last part I care for such details significantly. I was seeking this certain details for a long time. Thank you and finest of luck.

    Comment by Elektrische Zahnbuerste — November 27, 2011 @ 1:28 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

