A Writer's Journey

April 7, 2011

Taking the First Steps

Filed under: journey,writing — mackenziew @ 9:28 pm
Tags: , , ,

In my last post, Milestone: Page 50, I put in a shameless plug. I do that a bit actually. But that shameless plug is part of my dream. The whole idea behind this blog is that I am going to get published. Consider it part of that Oprah philosophy—if I put it out to the universe, it will happen. And I know that it won’t happen at once. I’d like it to, I really would. Of course, I’m only on page 55 now (with another chapter in a notebook), so I highly doubt any publisher would be ready to do business with me just yet. Do I still fantasize about it? Hell, yes!

But my fantasies could fill a whole other blog post. I will be published. But I need to take the first steps to do so. And I’ve taken a few of them. I’m in the middle of writing my novel. I’ve also written a few short stories I wish to have published. I’ve started to submit one to magazines and other publication options. Time to build up that writing resume! I must admit it was a bit weird to write a little bios where my own other publication credit is an anthology of student poems that over ten years old. But I’m still tweaking my bio, so we’ll see what happens.

In fact, here’s what I have so far as a bio: “Alexandria Brim is a writer living in New York City. As a young girl, she loved to read; so much so that when she graduated from elementary school, she won the reading award. The principal announced the award, saying she had read more books than anyone in the room. It was only natural for Alexandria to segue into writing stories for others to read. She was published in an anthology of student poetry but prefers prose. She is currently writing her first novel.”

Thoughts? Ideas? I’m open to suggestions.

So please cross your fingers and/or pray for me.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

